I’ve never really liked the Psalms.

Standard

It’s not like I DISLIKED them. I just felt about them kind of like I used to feel about poetry. Fluffy. Frivolous. No real substance.

Guess what?

I’m finding out that I was wrong.

Like… super wrong.

I’m currently in the middle of TWO Bible studies. This is two more than I was involved in this time last year. (We’ll probably talk about my newfound love for scripture another time.) One is a study by Beth Moore about David. The other is from the ladies at SheReadsTruth.com called “This is the Bible”. Both focus heavily on verses from the Book of Psalms.

bethmooredavid

The Beth Moore study, in particular, has been amazing at linking Psalms that David wrote to events that happened in his life, which has been really helpful in making them come alive for me. And see that… well… It’s not just fluff. This was a man pouring his heart out to God when he had literally nowhere else to turn and no one else who understood. It’s lonely at the top AND at the bottom. 

I’ll share one with you that, in the last few weeks since I’ve been reading it and meditating on it almost daily, has completely revolutionized the way I see myself. 

Psalm 62

Song of Trust in God Alone

For God alone my soul waits in silence;
    from him comes my salvation.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall never be shaken.

How long will you assail a person,
    will you batter your victim, all of you,
    as you would a leaning wall, a tottering fence?
Their only plan is to bring down a person of prominence.
    They take pleasure in falsehood;
they bless with their mouths,
    but inwardly they curse.

For God alone my soul waits in silence,
    for my hope is from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
On God rests my deliverance and my honor;
    my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

Trust in him at all times, O people;
    pour out your heart before him;
    God is a refuge for us.

Those of low estate are but a breath,
    those of high estate are a delusion;
in the balances they go up;
    they are together lighter than a breath.
10 Put no confidence in extortion,
    and set no vain hopes on robbery;
    if riches increase, do not set your heart on them.

11 Once God has spoken;
    twice have I heard this:
that power belongs to God,
12  and steadfast love belongs to you, O Lord.
For you repay to all
    according to their work.

In her study, Beth Moore went on to say that, if you’ve reached a place where you understand that concept of “God alone,” then you have a story to tell – it’s been a journey to get there. Ain’t that the truth. 

On God rests my deliverance and my honor. GOD ALONE. 

You guys are probably way ahead of me and know this already. There’s a reason, I suppose, that the Book of Psalms is a fav. I don’t know why it’s taken me this long to get that, but I’m glad I’m here.

Leave a Reply

