Lentil Curry

Standard

Guys. This is the best curry I’ve ever made. I borrowed from like four different recipes, so I can’t even claim to have invented it, but I can definitely share it.

Lentil Curry

3 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 Tbsp minced garlic
1 medium yellow onion
2 Tbsp curry powder
0.5 Tbsp cumin
0.25 tsp black pepper
4 medium carrots, chopped
1 large russet potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
1 cup lentils (I used yellow because I had yellow, but color doesn’t matter)
4 cups vegetable broth (I used bullion + water)
1 can (13-14oz) unsweetened coconut milk

Heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic, onion, curry, and cumin. Cook until onion is softened. Add carrots, potato, lentils, broth, and pepper. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, add coconut milk, and simmer 15-20 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. Stir occasionally. Serve over basmati rice.

If you wanted more spice, I’m betting this would be amazing with the addition of some red pepper flakes. I’ll add some next time!

20130522-141049.jpg

Leave a Reply

