So this is the new year.

Standard

I hate it when people say, “New Year, New Me.” As if there was something wrong with the old you? I promise I’m the same person I was a week ago. And I’m good with that.

I’d reflect on 2012, but I kind of really don’t want to think about it. Much of it wasn’t fun. I did get this fantastic new nephew and a fabulous sister-in-law. And I’m claiming to be Aunt Meg to my friends Jen and Patrick’s new baby. I adore all of them. Those are my favorite things from 2012. So I’m keeping those and leaving the rest of it behind.

20130107-150229.jpg
New nephew being a baby hat. How adorable is this?

I rang in the new year with my BFF, friend Kristi, and their little family of housemates in Baton Rouge. It was a fantastic and relaxing few days, and I’m grateful that they opened their home to me. I ate (mostly) vegetarian and gluten-free while I was with them, and I survived – EVEN ENJOYED – the delightful food they prepared. I also got to see my friend Brooke and talk wedding details with her for her April wedding (yay!). AND I got to meet up with my brother Aaron and his girlfriend Cam for a little while on New Year’s Day.

20130107-150341.jpg
New Year’s Phase 10. It’s a tradition.

People make these long lists of things they want to do or accomplish in the new year. That’s fine, and all, but mine looks a little something like this:
-Turn 30 – this will happen, whether I’m ready for it or not, at the end of this month
-Graduate – pleasepleaseplease
-Find a job – pleasepleasepleasepleasePLEASEpleaseplease

That’s about it. All the change I can handle for one year. I mean… I’d like to write more and read more and help more and learn more, but I’m just not sure I can promise anyone (even and especially myself) that I’ll do any of that in the coming year. I’m just going to work on those three things up there.

I hope your 2013 is fabulous so far.

XOXO,
Meg

20130107-150657.jpg

Leave a Reply

